I’ve now completed the first two weeks if the training programme! I’ve done all that Ben has set – in fact a bit more, as a few wrong turns made my 120 minute boxing day run a 160 minute run. Fortunately I didn’t have a hangover, though I wasn’t notably abstentious on Christmas Day.

I’m still finding the threshold runs hard but enjoying the long easy or steady turns. Three times a week I spend an hour in a kayak or on a rowing machine. I probably ought to do more additional core work.

I haven’t lost any of my initial enthusiasm for the Big Marathon Challenge and miss no opportunity to tell all and sundry about the details of my training. I’m sure they are all grateful, though they haven’t said so in as so many words! I shall have to pick my moment carefully to ask them to support Richard House Children’s Hospice.

 

